The Sylvia Plath Prize – A New Themed Poetry Competition | After Sylvia
After Sylvia
Celebrating the 90th anniversary of Sylvia Plath’s birth

The Sylvia Plath Prize

In honour of the 90th anniversary of Plath’s birth.
Winners receive cash prizes and publication in After Sylvia – a celebratory anthology published by Nine Arches Press.

The Sylvia Plath Prize is open for entries until 31 December 2021 (midnight, UK time).

First prize: £1000
Second prize: £300
Third prize: £100

Entry fees: £5 for one poem. £4 for each additional poem. £20 for five poems.

A maximum of five poems per single entry. But you can enter as many times as you like.

Competition Judges: Sarah Corbett and Ian Humphreys (co-editors of After Sylvia – their biographies are on the homepage).

Each poem should be no more than 40 lines in length and respond to one of five Plathian themes:

– Nature
– Magic
– Mothers & Fathers
– Womanhood
– Rebirth

Winning and highly commended poems will be published in After Sylvia (Nine Arches Press) – an anthology of poems and essays celebrating Sylvia Plath, featuring contributions from leading poets and scholars, and due in October, 2022.

Entries via Submittable.

Please read the Competition Rules and Terms & Conditions before submitting.

We look forward to reading your poems. Good luck!

Lottery Funded, Supported using public funding by Arts Council England, Nine Arches Press | After Sylvia - Sylvia Plath Anthology
Interlinked Coloured Tulips | After Sylvia - Sylvia Plath Anthology